Preparing for fun this weekend

This weekend is a big travelling weekend in Iceland. As in, most people take their tents, caravans, etc just to go someplace a little warmer and a lot more fun to eat sandwiches with shrimp salads, barbecue hot dogs and drink pleeeeeenty of alcohol to get through the cold night.

Before I moved to Luxembourg I had shunned this weekend profusely, deciding instead to stick to familiar territory to not have to deal with the aforementioned cold and drunk Icelanders. This I did after my one bout of participating in the above craziness which ended up with me sitting in an airport in the middle of nowhere after not having slept for two nights in a row, losing all my friends and being terrified of someone coming into my tent and raping me.

This year, however, I decided to participate in the madness in an effort to live a fun life. I spent most of the summer in Iceland taking care of other people’s pets and working so I feel that going out and getting a bit crazy is in order. I decided to go with people that I don’t know that well to the northernmost part of the country, where there will be music and football playing in mud, and try my luck at drinking for three nights in a row. This, I am told, is supposed to be fun.

The planning for this weekend excursion has been a bit off the rails and so the conversation I’ve been having with the group I’m going with has been like the following:

Me: I’m bringing a car. Who is bringing the tent?
Person 1: Oh, me. But who can bring mattresses?
Person 2: I can bring a few. Who is bringing chairs?
Person 3: Me. Food?
Person 4: Buying it there, plus alcohol.
Me: What about battery for the phones?
All: Oh, dunno.
Me: Ok, I can borrow it. What about water containers?….

Fortunately we seem to have everything we need between us, but things like blankets, water, cooking utensils and more haven’t been discussed. I find myself going in circles trying to remember everything I need to survive over the weekend which means that the trunk in my car is losing space fast and there will be 5 of us sharing the same car. 5 people plus luggage in an old car for 6 hours just to get there.

I’ll admit that I am worried about the cold and being left alone, but I am assured that we will have fun. So I am bringing a bottle of Glenlivet (for the cold), a drinking board game (for the fun) and a hangover cure, and if worse comes to worst there are apparently hotels in town with free rooms. Wish me luck.

For the ones wondering what event this is, look here

Author: Lilja Kr.

Ég er kennaranemi í HA sem elskar góðan mat, gott vín, og að skrifa þegar ég hef ástæðu til þess. A writer from Iceland who likes good food, good wine, cute animals, overthinking and overanalyzing everything while trying to find a little bit of humor and kindness in every situation.

Leave a comment